Geography Faculty 2007-2008


Return to People and History


Faculty

Roger Byrne

Associate Professor
Biogeography, Prehistoric agriculture
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin, 1972
arbyrne@berkeley.edu

Beatriz Manz

Professor (Geography and Ethnic Studies)
Latin America, Political conflict, and human rights
Ph.D. State Univ of New York, Buffalo, 1977
bmanz@berkeley.edu

John Chiang

Associate Professor
Climate Dynamics, Paleoclimate
Ph.D. Columbia University, 2001
jchiang@atmos.berkeley.edu

Norman Miller

Adjunct Professor
Regional Climate System Modeling and climate variability and Change, and water resources
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin, Madison, 1987
nlmiller@lbl.gov

Kurt Cuffey

Professor and Department Chair
Geomorphology, Glaciers, Climate History
Ph.D. University of Washington, 1999
kcuffey@berkeley.edu

Robert Rhew

Assistant Professor
Biogeochemistry and the Atmosphere
Ph.D. Scripps Institute, UCSD, 2001
rrhew@atmos.berkeley.edu

Paul Groth

Professor (Architecture and Geography)
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1983
pgroth@berkeley.edu

Nathan Sayre

Assistant Professor
Rangelands, Ecology, The West
Ph.D. University of Chicago, 1999
nsayre@berkeley.edu

Gillian Hart

Professor
South Africa, Politics, Development
PhD. Cornell University, 1978
hart@berkeley.edu

Harley Shaiken

Professor (Education and Geography)
Latin America, Labor, Technology
B.A. Wayne State University, 1977
hshaiken@berkeley.edu

You-tien Hsing

Associate Professor
China, Cities, Development
PhD. UC Berkeley, 1993
yhsing@berkeley.edu

Richard A. Walker

Professor and Graduate Advisor
Cities, Economics, California
Ph.D. The Johns Hopkins University, 1977
walker@berkeley.edu

Michael Johns

Professor
Cities, Culture, The Americas
Ph.D. The Johns Hopkins University, 1990
johns@berkeley.edu

Michael J. Watts

Professor
Political economy, Africa, Islam
Ph.D. University of Michigan, 1979
mwatts@berkeley.edu

Jake Kosek

Assistant Professor
Cultural Politics of Nature and Difference; Science and Technology Studies
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley, 2002
jake@berkeley.edu

Faculty Affiliates

Nine faculty members from other departments on campus are affiliated with the Department of Geography. Professors Dietrich, Fortmann, Groth, Ingram, and Kondolf may teach classes in Geography and serve as inside members on qualifying exams and thesis committees. Professors Gong, Kirch, Lave, and Radke often serve as outside members of qualifying exams and thesis committees and they sometimes cross-list courses with Geography and co-teach courses with Geography faculty.

William Dietrich

Professor (Earth & Planetary Science and Geography)
Ph.D. .
bill@geomorph.berkeley.edu

Patrick Kirch

Professor (Anthropology and Geography).
Ph.D., Anthropology, Yale University, 1975
kirch@qal.berkeley.edu

Louise Fortmann

Professor (Environmental Science, Policy and
Management and Geography)
Ph.D., Cornell University, 1973.
fortmann@nature.berkeley.edu

G. Mathias Kondolf

Professor (Landscape Architecture and Geography)
Ph.D. The Johns Hopkins University, 1988
kondolf@berkeley.edu

Peng Gong

Professor (Environmental Science, Policy and Management and Geography).
Ph.D., University of Waterloo, 1990
gong@nature.berkeley.edu

John Radke

Associate Professor (Landscape Architecture and Geography).
Ph.D. University of British Columbia, 1983
ratt@gisc.berkeley.edu

B. Lynn Ingram

Professor (Earth & Planetary Science and Geography)
Ph.D. Stanford University, 1992
ingram@eps.berkeley.edu

Lecturers

Robert Acker

Lecturer
Ph.D. (Geography), University of California, Berkeley, 2001
bobinlaos@yahoo.com

Cary Karacas

Lecturer
Ph.D. (Geography), University of California, Berkeley, 2006
ckaracas@berkeley.edu

Ben Gardner

Lecturer
Ph.D. (Geography), University of California, Berkeley
gardnerb@berkeley.edu

Shiloh Krupar

Lecturer
Ph.D. (Geography), University of California, Berkeley
shiloh@berkeley.edu

Darin Jensen

Lecturer
B.A. (Geography), University of California, Berkeley, 1999
djensen@berkeley.edu

Dave Wahl

Lecturer
Ph.D. (Geography), University of California, Berkeley, 2005
dwahl@berkeley.edu

Emeriti

Orman E. Granger

Professor
Ph.D. University of Toronto, 1974
ogranger@berkeley.edu

Robert R. Reed

Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley, 1972
bobandsydreed@yahoo.com

David Hooson

Ph.D. London School of Economics, 1955
hooson@socrates.berkeley.edu

Hilgard O'R. Sternberg

Ph.D. Louisiana State University, 1956
Doutor em Geografia, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, 1958
Docteur honoris causa, University of Toulouse, 1964
hilgards@berkeley.edu

Theodore M. Oberlander

Ph.D. Syracuse University, 1963

David R. Stoddart

Ph.D. Cambridge University, 1964
stoddart@berkeley.edu


Return to People and History